#FF – Explore the Possibilities of Social Media

what-is-ff1It’s the first Follow Friday of 2019 so we’re encouraging folx to explore some of the ways Twitter can bring more creativity and joy to our work. We’ve contributed a few ideas of accounts we follow to inspire us and make us smile, and our reasons for recommending them to you!

Emily @stormyafternoon

  • I follow fellow mediators as a way of staying in contact with my dispute resolution community:
  • I follow Chief Judge Dillard because he is a great example of how a neutral can be a part of the twittersphere.
  • I follow legal tech folks as it inspires me to think about how legal tech connects with conflict resolution.
  • And I love dogs, so I follow this one because it makes me smile.

Darsey @darseyrsm

It never fails to be encouraging and charming to see happy dogs who couldn’t possibly be rated lower than 10/10. It’s a feel-good kind of account and makes me happy whenever I see a post.
During NaNo (November) and Camp NaNo (April and July), there are longer and shorter word sprints that come with optional prompts to help break through writer’s block. This account also offers an active community of people writing at the same time as you, and an opportunity to celebrate successful chunks of writing with others.

Sharon @ssuth

  • Game to Grow – @gametogrow  I’m inspired by folx exploring the ways in which games can do so much more than entertain.
  • Orkney Library – @orkneylibrary  I happened to travel to Orkney in 2017, but you don’t need to have ever been there to enjoy the creativity and humour of the library account! Makes me happy and is a great example of engaging through Twitter.
  • Dr. Katherine J. Mack – @astrokatie An astrophysicist with 290K followers for a reason: she’s funny, insightful, and shares ideas and knowledge I’d never encounter in my usual academic/practice circles.

 

Author: pignpotato

PignPotato Games is a group of mediators, lawyers and creatives sharing a desire to change how conflict resolution and collaboration are learned in homes, schools and businesses. PignPotato Games produces games that are collaborative, fun and challenging.

Leave a comment